Funding

Undergraduate Research Opportunities Scheme (UROS) 2014

The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Scheme is designed to encourage undergraduates to become involved in the research work of the University, thereby contributing to that work, and developing their own research and transferable skills. Student Bursaries of up to £1000 are available to support projects that will normally be completed during the summer vacation. Applications are submitted collaboratively by the staff and students participating in the project.

UROS_application_form_2014 (DOC) | UROS_guidance_notes_2014 (PDF)


Click here to view the UROS projects funded in 2012

Click here to view reports on projects funded in 2011

 

Fund for Educational Development (FED)

The Fund for Educational Development (FED) aims to support the implementation of the University’s Student as Producer initiative by enabling innovative curriculum redesign projects. Funds of up to £1500 are available, and projects should result in publishable case-studies which will serve as exemplars for practical interpretation of Student as Producer principles within disciplines.

The fund is open to all members of staff and students from all parts of the university. In keeping with the principles of Student as Producer, project bids should demonstrate active collaboration between staff and students. Staff may use project funds to pay bursaries to students for their participation.

Information about FED projects in 2013/14 is on a separate site
http://fed2014.blogs.lincoln.ac.uk/

Successful FED projects (2011/12)

Name

Faculty/Dept

Project title

Dan Bishop
dbishop@lincoln.ac.uk
HLSS/Dept Sport, Coaching and Exercise Science Student-Engaged Subject Committee MeetingsView Project blog
Kayla Bowtell
kbowtell@lincoln.ac.uk
MHT / School of Performing Arts Using the Artist in Residence Model as a Framework for Module Delivery
Leslie Hicks
lhicks@lincoln.ac.uk
HLSS/Sch of Health and Social Care What factors enable or hinder students’ research engaged learning in Practice Learning Opportunity 1 (PLO1)
Kirsty Miller
kmiller@lincoln.ac.uk
HLSS/School of Psychology School of Psychology Student Conference
Katie Strudwick
kstrudwick@lincoln.ac.uk
HLSS/School of Social Sciences Evaluation of the impact of Student Mentoring within a Social Sciences research methodology module.

 

Successful FED projects (2010/11)

Name

Faculty/Dept

Project title

Dan Bishop dbishop@lincoln.ac.uk HLSS/Dept Sport, Coaching and Exercise Science Evaluation of student participation within HLSS Faculty quality processes to inform & enhance T&L
Jill Jameson jjameson@lincoln.ac.uk School of Social Sciences Student reflections of Criminology in the Professions- one year on
Prof Daniel Mills dmills@lincoln.ac.uk AFAS/Dept Biological Sciences Human-animal interaction research – a multi-disciplinary teaching resources
Adam O’Meara aomeara@lincoln.ac.uk MHT/LSM Rhizomes – exploring the concept of becoming in photographic image production
Dr Amira Elnokaly aelnokaly@lincoln.ac.uk Architecture Embedding Sustainable and Environmental Design within the Architecture Curriculum
Dr Ruth Croxton rcroxton@lincoln.ac.uk HLSS/School Natural and Applied Science Development of pre-lab interactive learning objects to enhance student experience and learning
Dr Richard Keegan rkeegan@lincoln.ac.uk School Sports, Coaching and Exercise Going full circle: a student led project exploring (& sharing) students’ experiences of PBL within an applied-subject practice
Dr John C Murray jomurray@lincoln.ac.uk MHT/School of Computer Science DIVERSE – Development & Integration of Varying Educational Resources and Student Engagement
Mark Swainson mswainson@lincoln.ac.uk AFAS/Dept Food Manufacture and Process Automation Student as Producer focused review and development of DL teaching materials

Futher details about individual projects can be downloaded from the links below